April Pets of the Month 2017

Happy Heartworm Awareness Month!

 

Are you protecting your pets? Dogs and Cats can get heartworms from just one bite from an infected mosquito! We all know we have a mild winter here in Texas, so mosquitos are around all year long. Luckily, we have great and easy preventatives to use to protect your pet! We just had a sad case this week of a dog that was heartworm positive. Without treatment it can cause life harming changes to the body. Call us today to see what products we have!

 

Canyon Animal Clinic

Hi, my name is Chex! I am a 120 pound Doberman. I am 4 years old and I love everyone! I love coming to Canyon Animal Clinic! The staff always gives me lots of love and treats! The hugs are good but the treats are better! I recently had to spend the night and have a TPLO (Tibial Plateau Leveling Osteotomy), because I tore my Cranial Cruciate Ligament. Bummer! Since the surgery, I have been doing my physical therapy with my mom and I am feeling much better! My family is very happy that I am doing better because I have an important job, of Ring Bearer, in their wedding this month! Thank you CanyonVet for helping me with my leg!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Canyon City Animal Hospital

Meet Mac! Mac is a 7 year old Rottweiler Mix. He came to see us early March for not eating and lethargy. Dr. Buntain performed radiographs and determined he had Splenomegaly; enlargement of the spleen. Dr. Buntain administered IV fluids and a blood transfusion before performing surgery to remove the spleen (Splenectomy). What is unique about Mac is that his spleen turned out to be a hematoma, which is a benign collection of blood, not cancer! (which is more common) The surgery went well and now Mac is back to his playful, bashful self!

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hunters Canyon Animal Hospital

My name is Alfredo! I am a 5 year old Maremma Sheepdog. I am a regular visitor to see my favorite groomer, Amber! More recently, my visits are to care for an anal gland issue.  The anal glands or anal sacs are small glands found near the anus in many mammals, including dogs and cats.  After careful consideration from my doctor and family they decided it was best to remove the anal gland (anal sacculectomy) to clear up any infection once and for all! Permanent relief of chronic anal gland conditions such as impaction, infection, and abscessation can be achieved with surgery.  I have healed from surgery and I am feeling great!

 


Leave a Reply

